Your shopping cart is currently empty.
When Sourcing Halal Foods and Ingredients
- Look for a registered halal logo such as or others on the packaging of the product.
- Always read the ingredients on labels carefully.
- Avoid products that contain questionable ingredients, as shown below.
- Look for pertinent information by visiting reliable web sites (such as www.halalhealthy.com www.ifanca.org, www.halal.com or by calling the manufacturer directly.
Virtually everything available from Nature is Halal. The only exceptions are:
HARAM / AVOID
- Swine/Pork and its by-products
- Animals improperly slaughtered or dead before slaughtering
- Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants
- Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals
- Foods contaminated with any of the above products (see tables below)
Animal Shortening Ethyl Alcohol Bacon Beer Bacon Bits Gin Gelatin Malt Liquor Ham Rum Shortening Scotch Hydolized Porcine Collagen Vodka Lard Whiskey Pork Wine Hydrolized Animal Protein Wine Coolers
INVESTIGATE FURTHER: These are used in small quantities and can contain components that mainly come from haram animals, alcohol, or Halal animals slaughtered by non-Muslims. Examples are whey, a dairy product, which is the liquid left after making cheese. The cheese may be made with enzymes from pork, calf, goat or microorganisms.
With the complexity of food manufacturing it is difficult to determine the appropriateness of many food products.
INVESTIGATE FURTHER Some Questionable Ingredients
- Artificial & natural colorings
- Artificial & natural flavorings
- Calcium stearoyl lactylate
- Fatty acids
- Glycerol stearate
- Gum base
- Hydrolyzed bovine collagen
- Lactylated fatty acid esters
- Magnesium stearate
- Mono & Di-glycerides
- Potassium stearate
- Propylene glycol monostearate
- Sodium lauryl sulfate
- Sodium stearate
- Sorbitan monostearate
- Stearic acid
- Stearoyl lactylate